Certified Scaffold Builders & Erector Specialist

100% online, self-paced course format

Course Credential: IASHEP- Certified Scaffold Builder & Erector Specialist (CSBES)

(Note: Refresher certification is required every three years to maintain professional credential.) Renewal fee is: $150

Non-discrimination Policy:

IASHEP is committed to maintaining a work and learning environment free of all forms of discrimination

Program Objective:

In a Bureau of Labor Statistics study, 72% of workers injured in scaffold accidents attributed the accident either to the planking or support giving way, or to the employee slipping or being struck by a falling object. All of these can be controlled by compliance with the OSHA standard for scaffolding 29 CFR 1926.451, outlined in this course. If you work, or are going to be working, in or around scaffolds and at height, then this scaffold course will provide you with a very nice introduction on how you can do this type of work safely.

This training is performed in accordance with the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) Construction Industry Scaffold Standard, 29 CFR 1926 subpart L. This course covers the safe procedures and work practices associated with erecting, dismantling, and usage of free standing supported scaffolding (frame, tube and clamp, and system). This course incorporates only classroom training and does not include hands-on practice.

Course Topics

  • Overview of Scaffold Safety
  • Introduction to Scaffolds
  • General Scaffold Safety


  • Heavy Duty Tubular Welded Frame
  • Plaster & Stucco Light Duty Scaffold
  • Ladder Jack Scaffolds
  • Suspended Scaffolds
  • OSHA


  • Construction industry personnel
  • Managers concerned about liability and workers’ compensation costs.
  • Safety supervisors
  • Building inspectors
  • Small Business Owners
  • Safety Committee Representatives


Students completing the course must take a proctored final exam.  A score of 80% on the final exam is necessary to receive your personalized certificate of completion. The student gets three (3) attempts to pass the course.

After signing up for this course IASHEP will send you a link to the LMS class