Certified Electrical Hazardous Location Specialist – High Voltage

100% online, self-paced course format

Professional Credential: (IASHEP-Certified Electrical Hazardous Location Specialist (IASHEP-CEHLS – High Voltage)

Note: Refresher certification is required every three  years to maintain professional credential.) Recertification fee $150

Non-discrimination Policy:

IASHEP is committed to maintaining a work and learning environment free of all forms of discrimination

Course Description:

High Voltage Electrical Safety for Power Generation, Transmission and Distribution – Industrial Training

Review the OSHA specific requirements for working near high voltage electrical systems, including your responsibilities, training requirements and the definition of a “qualified” person. Learn how to create a safe work environment through understanding electrical hazards and proper work and protection practices.


OSHA Introduction

  • Key national consensus standards
  • Standards development

Understanding Electrical Hazards

  • Electric shocks, arcs and blasts
  • Fault current and potential difference
  • Electrical safety in industrial plants

29 CFR 1910.269: Electric Power Generation, Transmission and Distribution

  • 269(a): Application
  • 269(c): Job briefing
  • 269(d): Hazardous energy control (Lockout/Tagout) procedures
  • 269(g): Personal protective equipment
  • 269(i): Hand and portable power tools
  • 269(j): Live-line tools
  • 269(l): Working on or near exposed lines
  • 269(n): Grounding for the protection of employees
  • 269(p): Mechanical equipment
  • 269(q): Overhead lines
  • 269(t): Underground electrical installations
  • 269(w): Special conditions

Electrical Safety Work Practices

  • Qualified person requirements
  • 332: Training
  • 333: Selection and use of work practices
  • 335: Safeguards for personnel protection


Students completing the course must take a proctored final exam.  A score of 80% on the final exam is necessary to receive your personalized certificate of completion. The student gets three (3) attempts to pass the course

After signing up for the course IASHEP will send you a link to theLMS class